3D1 Assignment 2 final

This is how far I have come with the modeling and texturing of the knife.

KnifeUdk
The knife imported into UDK.
knifeD
Diffuse Map
knifeN
Normal Map
knifeS
Specular Map

This was the toughest one so far to texture, the modeling part was not that hard to do. But the thing that was hard was to unwrap the UV. The only hard part was the middle one where i wanted to cut it open into one piece, I sat down and tried it for two hole days until I became blinded by the cutting. So i decided to cut it into several different parts and edit everything in Photoshop to make it whole. Another mistake I made was to put the handle UV on top on of one another instead of separating them. My first thought about doing it was to minimize the work space but it turned out to be a a mistake as they didn’t appear to be symmetrical. I had a lot of help with texturing the middle part of the knife by my classmate Nils, as I was unsure of how to do it (I needed to recover some parts that was cloaked in shadow by the original picture).

But I was pretty satisfied by the results I got, and hopefully my teacher too. Wish me luck!

Published by

Ashvaganza

A student from Uppsala University, Campus Gotland. Game design graphics! I Write about taking game classes, our education, making a game. And maybe more daily stuff. Who knows.. maybe ill inspire someone someday! ;)

Leave a comment